Projects Update 1/21/17

One year since I started this blog, done so much in this year, couldn’t be happier. looking forward to another year and a half before college. And… its almost film festival season. I have 3 new movies, one that I probably won’t submit to anything, one that I definitely will submit, and one that I will most likely submit depending on how it turns out.

Enrique Project- Ryan still wants to so might keep going doing other projects as well though.

Other film projects- Filmed The Archer! All in one night, took about 3 hours. It didn’t go all smoothly, it was cold and VERY dark. I had to film on 4.5 aperture, 12,600 ISO, and 1/30 speed; basically just trying to get it as bright as possible. I also of course had my portable lighting system (a flashlight on a tripod). They weren’t that bright. Looking over the footage, I needed to lighten almost every clip. Luckily FCPX is good at that. Anyway I’m still working on that project, I’ll see how it turns out, probably will enter it into Eyelight and NCSFF.

Screen Shot 2017-01-21 at 2.26.24 PM.png

Clip from The Archer

The PSA though turned out awesome! It’s called Ice and it parallels life and melting ice, and how life is fragile and it’s important to have people there that can keep you safe. Filmed with Canon T5i and Eric’s Canon T5. It’s beautiful! There’s some nature shots in it that look professional, and the ice looks amazing too! We turned off all lights and used a flashlight to highlight only the ice. Its so cool! The ice glows. Anyway the script is amazing, written by Eric, and the images are so good too! Probably the best film I’ve made so far, hopefully it will win big! I can’t post it until after the festival though, you won’t see it until like April

Screen Shot 2017-01-21 at 2.29.13 PM.png

End text from Ice

The EyeFix VR Commercial is done. It’s pretty funny, maybe a bit crude for Vimeo, so I posted it on the homeland of crude videos: Youtube. It’s post is here. It turned out pretty funny, but I don’t think its appropriate to enter into festivals. Well maybe Eyelight lol. But I really like it. It was a fun project and not serious like the others I’ve been doing.

The eyeFix logo.jpg

Logo I created for The eyeFix (I took the picture of the glasses as well)

So The Long Run script is on hold, I want to make it very well, and not rush it. I have another script idea though. It follows 3 people who are similar, but lonely and don’t have a lot of friends and it show how the three of them meet and become friends. It’s more of a heartwarming script that Instanly Involved or The Archer haha. I wanted to do something more sweet like that after I mad the PSA. The PSA turned out so well, and had meaning and emotion to it (emotion other than thrill and action). I wanted to do something more like that.

Equipment- just the portable lighting system.

FullSizeRender (13).jpg

Portable “lighting system” (lights taped to tripods)

DMA Work- Wow, big change from last time, Haven’t done any work for DMA yet this year, only went there on Tuesday to pick up a camera, will probably do more work by the next time I post.

Film Camp/Classes- Wow its close, I have hardly prepared (flashback to me saying this over the summer lol). But I’m going to run it the same way, so I’ll be fine. 9 students in session A and 7 in session B. That’s a lot so soon!

Applying for internships and classes- Idk if I’ll do something over the summer. Really wanna apply for a class at Sac City next year though.

Video/Film Jobs- Actually STILL waiting on 80 bucks from the FH coach, I’ll have to email her again, I hate asking for money. I did another bike meeting the other day, this time it was all professional equipment. It was really cool having the Canon XA-25 with shot gun mic and tripod along with my own Canon T5i with shot gun mic and tripod. And I was in charge of all this equipment. I can now do almost any film job for anyone professionally, because I have access to this equipment. I talked to someone who works for the City of Davis, and they said that they might have a project for me! Its actually a cool project. Davis being the giant bike town it is, has lots of law enforcement on bike laws. So if you run a stop sign or don’t wear a helmet, you normally have to pay a fine of 50 bucks. Now they’re changing it so that you have to go online, watch a video, and answer questions about bike laws. And she asked me if I was interested in making the video. I had to resist yelling, “Hell Yeah!” Making a video for the CITY would be amazing!!

IMG_7547.JPG

Set up for the bike meeting

PSA for Orchestra- I’m going to ask him about the Wennberg concert coming up.

The DMAC- First meeting of the new year on Tuesday, we’re voting on photos for the Architecture photo contest. I also need to email about renting the IPAB for the DHS DMAC student film festival and Photo of the Year Contest. If not the IPAB, then the Vets Memorial, or maybe Varsity theater.

Film Festivals and Events- Directing Change, NCSFF, and Eyelight. That’s who I want to submit to this year. I made the Ice PSA for directing change, it has potential to actually win something this year. Then NCSFF (Northern California Student Film Festival) is a new film festival I found that’s running for the first time this year. Its open to only northern California and has cash prizes as well as trophies and other medals for winning or just being nominated. It seems like a lot of fun. The festival itself is in South San Francisco, not sure if I’ll attend it, but it looks like fun. Then info about Eyelight still hasn’t been posted, but Larsen told me it’s still going to happen. That was so much fun last year, can’t wait to go again.

Photography and Graphic Design- Did a lot of modeling and portraits with Eric (he does photo and helped me film the PSA). That was fun, I want to do more of my own portraits in the future. I used photoshop for image editing for the first time yesterday. Some of the pics are pretty cool. I posted one already, I learned how to do splash and how to highlight colors.

IMG_7554.JPG

Selective color enhancements done on photoshop

Other News- Not much, the semester is over now. 4.0! yeah! finally. Otherwise all is normal. I got back into composing a bit, I arranged a piece for my quintet yesterday. We’re practicing tomorrow. I don’t think I’ll audition for baroque and symphony this year, I want to focus on film and those orchestras are a lot of commitment. Anyway, busy weekends still, lots of stuff with friends… all is gooood

FullSizeRender (14).jpg

Cool filming pic of me (pc: Eric)

Alright, monthly works well for posts, I’ll post again in February, right before I submit into Directing Change and NCSFF. I will have started film classes too! So that’s something to write about… next time.

Comment

